You are here

Local attractions in Armagh

Attractions in Armagh Northern Ireland

Armagh County Museum
The Mall East
BT61 9BE
028 37523070
Armagh County Museum's unique architecture makes it one of the most distinctive buildings in the city and its extensive collections are based on specimens gathered by the Armagh Natural History and Philosophical Society during the 19th century.

As part of the National Museums and Galleries of Northern Ireland; there is an impressive art collection including works by many well-known Irish artists.

The Museum also has an extensive reference library, rich in local archive material, along with photographic and map collections (open to visitors by appointment), and a range of changing exhibitions throughout the year.

Exhibitions reveal the rich and varied history of the County with permanent displays covering archaeology, prehistoric artefacts, local and natural history specimens, railway memorabilia, rural crafts, costume and military uniforms, wedding dresses, ceramics and paintings and household items from a bygone age.

Visitor facilities include:

Guided tours
Disabled Access/Toilet
Groups - booking is advisable
Admission is free

Opening times:

Monday - Friday:

10am - 5pm


10am - 1pm & 2pm - 5pm

Closed Bank Holidays (July) and Christmas/New Year

Please contact for further information.

Armagh Observatory
College Hill
BT61 9DG
028 37522928

The picturesque Observatory at Armagh looks similar to many other country houses in Ireland of the late 18th century with its square, sparsely ornamented, Georgian residence connected by a low wing to an eastern tower.

The Armagh Observatory is a modern astronomical research institute with a rich heritage.

Founded in 1790 by Archbishop Richard Robinson, the Observatory is one of the UK and Ireland's leading scientific research establishments where around 25 astronomers are actively studying Stellar Astrophysics, the Sun, Solar System astronomy, and the Earth's climate.

The planetarium has been upgraded for visitors and scientists and located in the grounds of the 18th century Observatory is an Eartharium, with displays examining the Earth's core, surface and atmosphere, which opened last summer, the Robinson Dome with 10 inch telescope, Lindsay sundial and the Armagh Astropark.

There is limited wheelchair access to the building.

Admission is free and group tours of building are only by request.

The grounds and Astropark are open all year.

Please contact for further information.

Royal Irish Fusiliers Museum
Sovereigns House, The Mall East
BT61 9DL
028 37522911
This elegant 18th Century House is the former residence of the 'Sovereign', or Mayor of Armagh, and now houses the Museum which displays and exhibits a collection showing the unique history of the Royal Irish Fusiliers.

Amongst the artefacts on display are two First World War Victoria crosses and a very rare soldier's tunic which dates back to 1805.

The regiment was raised in Dublin in 1793, amalgamated in 1968, and was renowned as 'his Majesty's most Catholic regiment' because of their Gaelic battle cry "Faugh a Ballagh".

This translates to "clear the way".

There is a reference library on military history and research facilities are available by appointment.

Sovereigns House can be found at one end of The Mall about 20mtrs from the Court House and five minutes walk from the Ulsterbus station.

Opening hours are as follows:-

Monday to Friday

10.00am-12.30pm and 1.30pm-4.00pm

Open all bank holidays (except Christmas Day and New Years Day)

Please contact for more details or visit the website.

Saint Patrick's Trian Visitor Complex
40 English Street
BT61 7BA
028 37521801
Saint Patrick's Trian Visitor Complex is housed in three listed buildings in Armagh city which reflects the historic division of the city into three main districts.

There are three completely different exhibitions on show at this award-winning complex which all tell their own story.

"The Armagh Story"

"Patrick's Testament"

"The land of Lilliput"

When visiting Northern Ireland this is a gem to visit with exhibitions, audio-visual shows, art galleries and craft shops showing the history of Armagh, including the arrival of St. Patrick to Armagh and the Viking invasions.

There is so much to see and do for all age groups including Jonathan Swift's most famous book "Gulliver's Travels" being narrated by a 20ft giant.

There is a tour guide on request, group visits, conference facilities, birthday parties, art exhibitions, restaurant, toilets/disabled toilets, shopping/craft shops, educational facilities, car and coach park.

Please contact for further details and opening times, or visit the website.

Slieve Gullion Forest Park
Nr Newry
028 37551277

Slieve Gullion Forest Park covers an area of 2500 acres and a scenic eight mile (10km) drive around the mountain top trail (1,880 ft), offers visitors spectacular views of the surrounding thickly wooded countryside, passing megalithic cairns and lake, with stunning views of the Ring of Gullion, Cooley Mountains and the Mountains of Mourne at the summit.

There are walking trails leading to the mountain's summit or, for the less energetic, why not take a leisurely walk around the walled garden, or a stroll through the mixed coniferous, mostly broadleaf woodland Nature Reserve, which is an 'Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty', before calling into the Coffee shop situated in courtyard.

Slieve Gullion is a huge whale shape mountain surrounded by a ring of hills known as a ring dyke. This unique landscape is composed of three distinct units; the earliest of which is the outer ring dyke, a clearly defined series of hills surrounding Slieve Gullion up to 300m in height and 11km in diameter.

The hills were formed by an influx of acidic magma forming granophyre and the most common theory on its formation is that it intruded after the 'ring dyke'.

The third and final phase of the complex's history was the intrusion of a small area granite around the south eastern edge of the ring at Foughilloutra.

As well as a striking landscape the area has a rich and thriving cultural heritage.

There is wheelchair access and the entrance is five miles from Newry on Forkhill road.

Opening times Easter to End of Summer:
Monday - Sunday: 10.00am - dusk

Please contact for further information.

The Navan Centre and Fort
81 Killylea Road
BT60 4LD
028 37521801

The Navan Centre interprets one of Ireland's most important ancient monuments, Navan Fort; a large earthwork of circular plan surrounding the summit of a drumlin in pleasant rolling countryside which was the Royal seat of the Kings of Ulster and the province's ancient capital from 660 BC until 330 AD; it was also the stronghold of the Red Branch Knights.

Navan, which has over 7,500 years of history, comprises a system of earthworks, settlement sites and sacred spots. It occupies a key place in Heroic Age legend, notably in tales about Cuchulain; whenever King Conor had a problem with Queen Maeve, 'the rather fierce ruler of Connaught', Cuchulain came to the rescue.

Today The Navan Centre replicates what the original Navan Fort is believed to have looked like and visitors can learn more about the history of the region, as well as listening to the story about King Conor.

The story is told in the visitor centre; in addition to details about the mythology of the Ulster Cycle and the techniques used by archaeologists to uncover the fort. There are excellent exhibition and audio-visual shows with historical and archaeological information related to this fascinating ancient place.

The Centre also explores Celtic culture along with rituals and beliefs of pre-Christian Ireland, as well as giving details of the mythology of the Ulster Cycle, and the techniques used to uncover the Fort by archaeologists.

Guided tours are available which begin in the 'Vanished World' of lost myths, before travelling into the 'Real World' of archaeology and then entering the 'Other World' to hear the legends of the Ulster Cycle.

Visit the Iron Age/Early Christian period dwelling and, through living history interpretation, learn about that way of life, before finally, walking the path of history to the great Ancient Seat of Kings, Navan Fort.

Audio Visual: Languages in English, Irish, French, German, Italian & Spanish and notes are available in Irish, French, German, Italian & Spanish.

There are various children’s activities throughout with excavation boxes, badge making, dressing up and visits to Iron Age/Early Christian dwelling.

Further information:

Car Parking: 100 spaces (6 disabled spaces available)
Coach Parking: 10-12 available
Disabled access/toilet (mound not accessible)
Group bookings are necessary
Picnic area / Shop
Restaurant (Serving wide range of home baked food)
Sensor controlled exhibition with headphones

Opening Times:
April, May & September:

Saturday: 10.00a.m - 5.00p.m
Sunday: 12.00p.m - 5.00p.m

June - August:
Monday - Saturday: 10.00a.m - 5.00p.m
Sunday: 12.00p.m - 5.00p.m

(Closed 12th July)

Please contact for further information.

The Argory
144 Derrycaw Road
Moy , Dungannon
BT71 6NA
028 87784753

The Argory and most of its contents were given to the National Trust by the late W. A. N. MacGeough Bond in April 1979 and two years later the house was opened to the public following major restoration work; including work to the stable block, designed in 1820 and surmounted by a cupola with an eight-day striking clock and a handsome weather-vane.

The Argory is a handsome 19th-century Victorian home; built in the 1820’s on a hill with wonderful views of the 320 acre gardens and wooded countryside overlooking Blackwater river.

This Neo-classical Irish gentry’s house remains virtually unchanged since 1900 and contains its original rich furnishings which are an excellent example of Victorian and Edwardian interior tastes and interests. The house is lit by its own acetylene gas plant, one of the very few surviving examples in the British Isles.

Visitors wishing to make a close study of the interior and paintings should avoid dull days, early and late in the season, because the house has no electric lighting.

Features include:

Unique working cabinet barrel organ;1824
Carrara marble chimney-piece
Early nineteenth-century billiard table by Burroughes & Watts
Steinway rosewood grand piano bought in 1898
Wilkie prints in ornate gilded frames
Stable yard with horse carriages and harness room
Old laundry and mangle room
An intriguing central stove

The Estate and gardens are extensive and visitors may take a stroll around the delightful gardens, along the woodland and riverside walks; with wonderful sweeping views, amongst the snowdrops and superb spring bulbs, the environmental sculpture trail and adventure playground; enjoying a family picnic along the way!

The Courtyard contains the Coach House and Award-winning Lady Ada's tea-room, which is open April - September.

Visitor facilities:

Access by guided tour only
Available for private functions and events
Access for visitors with disability
Baby-changing facilities
Coach/car parking
Dogs welcome on leads in grounds/garden only
Fascinating courtyard displays
Facilities for families
Programme of events

Please contact for further information.

The grounds are open all year round but, due to conservation work, the house will be closed from January 2007 until March 2008

Ardress House
64 Ardress Road
BT62 1SQ
028 87784753

Ardress House is a pretty 17th century manor house which with its elegant 18th century additions, has a character and charm all of its own.

Nestled deep in the rich apple orchards of County Armagh visitors will be able to tour the house and see the elegant Neo-classical drawing-room, with plasterwork by the Dublin plasterer Michael Stapleton, as well as antique furniture and picture gallery.

Also on display is the 1799 table made for the speaker of the Irish Parliament upon which King George V signed the Constitution of Northern Ireland on 22nd June 1921.

In the grounds there is a magnificent 18th century pink-cobbled working farmyard, home to an important collection of farm machinery, tools and traditional farm implements, as well as a blacksmith's shop, chicken houses and a piggery.

There is a well in the middle of the farmyard, which is very popular with all age groups, and the farmyard offers a 'hands-on experience' to children who can look forward to feeding the chickens and also have fun in the play area.

Visitors will also be able to explore the quaint garden and enjoy the scenic woodland and riverside walks amongst the famous apple orchards offering afternoons of picnics, fun and relaxation for everyone.

Visitor facilities include:

Guided tours
Access for visitors with disability
Programme of events
Facilities for families
Dogs are welcome on leads (only in grounds/garden)
My Lady’s Mile is open all year, dawn to dusk
Open April - September

Please contact for further information.

Armagh City Youth Hostel

39 Abbey Street
BT61 7EB
028 37511800
This is a purpose built hostel which provides ensuite 2, 4 and 6 bedded accommodation; one of the two bedded rooms is especially adapted for disabled people.

Youth Hostels are excellent for groups, and have facilities which are specifically for them.

Many groups choose to stay at Youth Hostels, including sports groups, school groups, church groups and youth organisations.

Facilities are also perfect for families.

Whether it’s a week by the seaside, or just a weekend away, the hostel can provide all the facilities you will need.

The hostel staff will be happy to recommend restaurants which offer children’s menus, or, you can choose to eat in and make good use of the fully-equipped self-catering kitchens and dining rooms.

There are family bedrooms available, which can sleep up to six people, so the whole family can stay together.

Cots and highchairs are available which make travelling a little lighter.

The location is ideally situated for visiting local attractions and is only five miles from the town centre.

Please contact for further information and bookings, or visit the website.